Search
Deals
Cruises
Get Help
Call Us

Occidental at Xcaret Destination - All-Inclusive

Mexico - Riviera Maya

Our Rating

3 Nights with Air from $449 All-Inclusive
Info Customer Reviews Questions & Answers
Customer Rating
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.1 out of 5
"I must say my family really enjoyed ourselves at Occidental Grand Xcaret for 1 full week and were very sad to leave. Rented two rooms for 6 of us and took my two kids (age 3 yrs. and a 4 month old) alo..." – NivlekGT
916 out of 1,113 (82%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from the buffet at the beach The 3 tier beach & lagoon Grand Romance Desert the lobby area One of the many beautiful pools! amazing veiws Beautiful views! Boat we road to the park next door!! So amazing! Outside lobby Xcaret Park At the beach Great service Breakfast veiw Romantic Dinner on the Shore Romantic Dinner on the Shore The boatride around the resort - relaxing! The beach area Iguana Path past ruin. The beach Two macaws in the lobby Climbed it... Right outside my room! Birds of paradise Hidden beach!! Breathe taking! Last breakfast. Amazing beach Alexis and Christan Rosebrock with my wife Julie. Terry and Julie Rosebrock Exploring ruins! Deer O2 Mexico - Whale Sharks are amazing animals Beach Day The village spiritual leader.. In the pool Feeding the monkey Beach This is what they call the beach Overlooking the beach View of sea from rocky area The boat to Excaret from the lobby one of the pools Beach View from lobby toward beach Monkey Couples' Trip Lobby Great time with the fam in Riviera Maya Cove Beach at Occidental Grand Xcaret Our room The River The Pool The lobby adults only area Our room #22105 Coati Seaside afternoons! What a view! Steak House Scarlet Macaws in the lobby Lots of wildlife around the natural pool was beautiful! Pool closest to our room Lazy River Beach club view
All Customer Reviews
1-4 of 955 reviews. Sort by
April 15, 2019
Just Ok

The resort itself & its location is absolutely beautiful. Everyone on the resort is super friendly and helpful. However, the food was not super flavorful or warm at times. The food at the restaurants was also lackluster. The evenings lacked any real forms of entertainment unlike other resorts.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Connecticut
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 9, 2019

Beautiful resort beautiful setting. The entertainment was Amazing every night, for both kids and adults. Customer service wasn't the best. Long wait time for drinks while eating/socializing and had to walk ways to a bar.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Denver Co
Age: 19-24

April 8, 2019

The resort was beautiful the kids loved seeing the monkeys. We enjoyed the shows every evening. The pool was big but could use more seating. The food in the buffet was not the best and the waiters were not enthusiastic about serving you drinks, we had to get up and get them ourselves more than a few times. Could use more bars around the resort. Ocean views were breathtaking but not much of a beach.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Denver, Co
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 7, 2019
A week in paradise

We just got back from 7 days 8 nights at the Occidental. My husband and I and our two kids, ages 7 and 9, stayed there from March 21-29th for spring break . This is our 7th time staying in the Playa del Carmen area but first time at this resort. After months of research I chose this resort because we prefer a resort that Is more environmental with beautiful nature-like views and a place we can see lots of animals. This resort did not disappoint at all for that. We saw so many animals, were able to feed the monkeys everyday from our balcony, we fed iguanas , loved seeing deer along the path, flamingos and parrots. It was perfect for my two children who love all animals. Our room was located in building 19 across from the main pool, great location and room was comfortable , spacious enough for the four of us, although wish the beds were bigger than double. We booked a deluxe conceirge room. The individuals at the desk in Our building were extremely nice and helpful when we had questions or issues . I just didn’t like how much they push you to go on a tour of the property in hopes of getting you to buy into the vacation packages. We had to keep saying no everyday as we were not interested. The main pool was great , we loved sunbathing out in the middle on a chair but there were absolutely not enough chairs to accommodate people. We would have to go down at 7:30am to get a chair at both the beach and the pool. It was quite ridiculous and this needs to be addressed . Now to the beach, this was our favorite place to spend time this vacation. I read many reviews on people complaining that it is not really a beach but rather an inlet or cove and they wish they had the long stretch of beach to Walk on. This was absolutely not the case for us. We LOVED the cove, the water was crystal clear and A-Mazing. We loved the white soft sand, it was most definitely awesome to have no waves and have a calm body of water where we saw beautiful fish and my kids could Comfortably swim . It had some of the clearest water I have ever seen in Mexico. Another love was having the option to ride the tram all week to get to places. My kids loved it and would sometimes just want to get on and ride it around. It was quite the walk from building 19 to the beach about .4 miles so this was a nice option. Now for the food, I would say this was my biggest disappointment of the Trip for me. We are not picky or high maintenance eaters but the restaurants were less than impressive. Our favorite place for breakfast and lunch was for sure the beach club with its beautiful views. We tried every restaurant but the Mexican over the course of the week and found the Chinese to be the best. Paco Tacos, and the pizza place was not great, the Italian was ok, the steakhouse served me a steak I legit could not get a steak knife through, the seafood restaurant by the pool was good although my kids didn’t like it much. Overall, compared to other resorts I woods say the food was just meh..... not impressive. But the positives were the staff were super friendly , service was good and we didn’t have to wait for a table if we arrived between 6:00-6:30pm. This was perfect for Our family and to not have to deal with reservations. Overall, our family vacation was super memorable, we had the most gorgeous weather everyday it was 80 and sunny, we loved all the fruity drinks all week, the friendly staff, the laid back atmosphere, the activity staff who Kept my son busy with so many fun games all week,the animals, the beach, and even our day trip to XCARET next door. We were sad to go but counting down the days till we come back to beautiful Mexico again!

A week in paradise Amazing beach
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Arlington Heights, IL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

Room Information

Occidental at Xcaret Destination - All-Inclusive features 765 rooms and suites located in a number of small three-story buildings surrounded by gardens, pools, and river channels. All rooms features air-conditioning, in-room safe, satellite TV, mini fridge and a balcony or terrace furnished with table and chairs. Cribs and extra bed available upon request.

Guests also have the option to stay at the Royal Level--a luxury boutique resort within the resort. These rooms include access to exclusive amenities and services to ensure everyone has a unique and luxurious experience! Amenities include VIP check-in, access to the private Royal Level Lounge and restaurant, luxe bathroom essentials, dedicated concierge services and much more!

Room Details

Deluxe
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Deluxe Concierge
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Deluxe Romance
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Junior Suite
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Junior Suite Concierge
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Junior Suite Romance
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Royal Level Luxury
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Royal Level Suite
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Deluxe - Sale
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

What's to Love

Aahmazing pic opp - this tropical paradise has lots of wildlife: monkeys, flamingos and iguanas.

The beach is on a calm, serene lagoon - ideal for swimming, especially if you've got young kiddos.

The pools will be your dream spot for lounging the day away. The swim-up bar will be your fav.

Hands down - top-notch service from this friendly staff at the resort.

 

What We'd Change

Occidental at Xcaret Destination is nearly an hour from the Cancun airport, but the private cove beach and meandering river that flows under cobblestone paths and stone bridges are worth it.

 

Why You Should Go

Located next to Xcaret Park, it's a gorgeous, natural sanctuary loaded with activities.

So much to do throughout the resort - mini golf, ping pong, tennis, archery, shuffle board & more.

Awesome resort if you're with the fam. The kids nor you will be bored.

Book a Royal level room - exclusive restaurant, concierge, private pool, VIP check-in/out.

Available Amenities

  • Tour Assistance
  • Beach
  • Cribs Available on Request
  • Currency Exchange
  • Fitness/Exercise Room
  • Jacuzzi
  • Kids Club
  • Laundry Services ($)
  • Nightly Entertainment
  • Scuba Certification ($)
  • Snorkeling
  • Swim-Up Bar(s)
  • Internet Access ($)
  • Swimming Pool(s)
  • Tennis Court(s)
  • Parking
  • Archery
  • Mini Golf
  • Medical Services ($)
  • Scooter/Motorcycle Rental
  • Shuffleboard
  • Spa Services ($)
  • Elevators
  • 10 Bars/Lounges
  • 11 Restaurants
  • Fax Machine ($)
  • Spa ($)
  • Conference Facilities ($)
  • Handicap Room Available
  • Wedding Services ($)
  • Honeymoon Packages ($)
  • Wireless Internet Access ($)
  • Beauty Salon ($)
  • Lounge Chairs
  • Car Rental Available ($)
  • Dive Shop ($)
  • Babysitting Services ($)
  • Banquet Facilities ($)


Nearby Excursions & Attractions

  • Beach
  • Dining
  • Dive Shop(s)
  • Golf Course(s)
  • Jet Ski Rentals
  • Marina
  • Mayan Ruins
  • Medical Facilities
  • Nature Park(s)
  • Nightlife
  • Parasailing
  • Sailing
  • Scuba Diving
  • Snorkeling
  • Windsurfing

Map of Local Area

Here you will find an abundance of possibilities, something for every person of any age, for every type of vacation, for every budget and every activity.

Occidental at Xcaret Destination - All-Inclusive

Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km 282, #307

+52 984 871 5400

Hotel Description

Occidental at Xcaret Destination - All-Inclusive: Ecological Paradise

This all-inclusive gem is nestled in a tropical wonderland of natural foliage, unique wild life (think monkeys and flamingos), cobblestone paths. An ecological haven, this resort has a meandering river that flows throughout the property and straight to the pools. It's just what you and the fam envisioned - it's mega-sized fun. Friendly games of ping pong, tennis and mini golf are definitely on the day's docket, but so is some pool time. And, a major bonus here - Xcaret Park is located next door. Yep. Pretty sure you're going to love it here.

DINING

An epicurean bonanza of 11 a la carte and buffet restaurants with such variety you will certainly not be disappointed. And guys, take note - pack some long pants. The dinner restaurants require long pants and closed toe shoes. Beach appetit.

Le Buffet
Type: International
Hours: Breakfast - daily, 7am-11:30am; Lunch - daily, 12:30-4pm; Dinner - daily, 6pm-10pm
Description: Gourmet International buffet dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Sonora Grill
Type: Steakhouse
Hours: Daily, 6pm-10pm
Description: A la carte steakhouse delights hot off the grill, buffet salad and dessert service for dinner only.
Dress code: Elegant casual. Gentlemen are required to wear long pants and a collared shirt.

Los Olivos
Type:
Mediterranean
Hours: Daily, 6pm-10pm
Description: A la carte Mediterranean and Italian cuisine for dinner only.
Dress code: Elegant casual. Gentlemen are required to wear long pants and a collared shirt.

La Hacienda
Type: Mexican
Hours: Daily, 6pm-10pm
Description: Gourmet, a la carte Mexican specialties for dinner only.
Dress code: Elegant casual. Gentlemen are required to wear long pants and a collared shirt.

D'Oriental
Type:
Asian
Hours: Daily, 6pm-10pm
Description: Chinese, Japanese, Thai and Indian cuisine offered.
Dress code: Elegant casual. Gentlemen are required to wear long pants and a collared shirt.

El Pescador
Type:
Seafood
Hours: Daily, 6pm-10pm
Description: Market-fresh a la carte seafood selections served in an open-air restaurant.
Dress code: Elegant casual. Gentlemen are required to wear long pants and a collared shirt.

La Piazza
Type:
Pizza
Hours: Daily, 6pm-6am
Description: Pizzas, paninis and baguettes.

Paco's Tacos
Type:
Mexican
Hours: Daily, 6pm-2am
Description: Guests enjoy tacos and authentic Mexican appetizers.

El Lago
Type:
Snacks
Hours: Daily, 11:30am-4pm
Description: By the main pool, offering snacks and light meals throughout the day.

Kids Club
Type: Buffet
Hours: Daily, noon-3pm
Description: Kids enjoy the special children's menu at the Kids Club buffet.

The Royal Level Restaurant
Type:
International
Hours: Daily, 7am-10:30pm
Description: Exclusively for The Royal Level guests, serving a selection of international cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner.


The Beach Club Restaurant
Type:
International
Hours: Breakfast - daily, 7am-11:00am; Lunch - daily, 12:00-6:00pm
Description: Gourmet International buffet dining for breakfast and lunch.


All hours are subject to change.



BARS/NIGHTLIFE

Find your cocktail of choice - fruity and frozen, ice cold beer or mixed and shaken - at any of the bars around the resort. For late night dancing, the disco opens at 10:30pm. Time to break out your party sandals.

Lobby Bar
Daily, 10am-Midnight

Terraza Bar
Daily, 6pm-2am

La Bodeguita Bar
Daily, 6pm-11pm

Pool and swim-up bar
Daily, noon-6pm

The Hundido Bar
Located in the Flamenco area. Daily, 10am-7pm

El Lago Bar
Located at the main pool. Daily, 10am-6pm

Beach Club Bar
Daily, 7am-11am

The Beach Bar La Caleta
Daily, 10am-6pm

Sports Bar
Daily, 6pm-1am

Palenque Disco
Daily, 10:30pm-2am

Flamencos Bar
Daily, 10am-6pm

Cangrejos Bar
Daily, 10am-6pm



BEACHES AND POOLS

White sands surround a serene lagoon that make this beachy spot the perfect natural swimming pool. And on top of that, you can dip your toes into any one of the seven pools that weave throughout the resort. Time for some water therapy, beach lovers.

SPORTS/ACTIVITIES

Water

  • Snorkeling
  • Swimming

For an additional charge:

  • Scuba
  • Fishing

Land

  • Gym
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
  • Archery
  • Mini-golf
  • Yoga
  • Aerobics


INTERNET

Occidental at Xcaret Destination - All-Inclusive offers guests an Internet connection for an additional charge.

SPA SERVICES

Spa treatments and beauty salon services are available at the resort for an additional charge.

WEDDING/HONEYMOON

A hotel wedding planner dazzles couples by designing weddings that know no boundaries, with customizations like adding mariachis, photography and unique delectable menus for extravagant receptions. For specific wedding packages and services, please contact the front desk.

For exclusive honeymoon amenities, the couple must present the marriage certificate upon arrival (valid until 6 months after marriage). Special honeymoon amenities include chocolate-covered strawberries and sparkling wine at arrival, free upgrade (if available), premium bath essentials and one continental breakfast in bed during your stay.



CHILD CARE

An indoor/outdoor children's activities center that includes video games, a pool, and a playground, the Kids Club offers daily supervised activities for children ages 4-12. Babysitting after Kids Club hours is available for an additional charge.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Location
Occidental at Xcaret Destination - All-Inclusive is located approximately 50 minutes from Cancun International Airport (CUN) and five minutes from Playa del Carmen. Occidental at Xcaret destination is located on the Caribbean coast of Mexico adjacent to the spectacular Xcaret Park. The nature park is one of Yucatan's principal visitor attractions.

Check In/Check Out
Check-in: 3pm, Check-out: noon.
A valid credit card may be required upon check in for possible incidentals not included in your hotel reservation.

Tax Payment
The government has approved a new tax for visitors visiting Cancun. The resort reserves the right to collect this new tax to all visitors. This tax will be a flat fee of $20.00 pesos (1.00 usd approx.) per night per room.

Minimum Stay
A 3-night minimum stay is required at the resort with the following exceptions:
A 5-night minimum stay is required for all travel Dec 21-Dec 25, 2017 & Jan 22-April 8, 2018.
A 7-night minimum stay is required for all travel Dec 26-Jan 3, 2018.

Awards and Accolades
Conde Nast Traveler announced that Occidental at Xcaret ranked 20th in its 27th annual Readers' Choice Awards 2014 for resorts in Mexico and the Caribbean. 7,721 hotels were included in the running from 642 cities around the area.

Holy Week
In observance of Holy Week, some resorts in the Dominican Republic, Mexico, and Costa Rica may put limits on the use of motorized water sports, and loud music.

Spring Break/Youth Policy
Individual student bookings are accepted. Minimum age requirement for check-in is 18 years of age. No more than the maximum occupancy per room is allowed. A refundable deposit per person (cash or credit card) is required upon check-in at the resort. Group student bookings must be requested through the Groups Department. These groups require a chaperone in addition to the refundable deposit.

Water Purification
Like all major Mayan Riviera hotels, the hotel is equipped with a water-purification system.

Environmental Levy Fee
The Municipalidad of Solidaridad in the Rivera Maya is one of the most beautiful places in the Mexican Caribbean. Tourism has been instrumental in driving the economic and social development of the region. In an effort to continue to preserve, conserve and beautify the destination, the Municipality of Solidaridad has implemented a small environmental levy on visitors effective September 1, 2017. Hotels will collect 20 Mexican pesos per room per day on check out; the proceeds will be deposited in an environmental trust to fund local projects. The Municipalidad of Solidaridad thanks you for your understanding and support of this worthwhile endeavor. Thank you and enjoy your visit.



All hours, fees, amenities, information and services are subject to change without notice.
Close
 

Choose Your Options

Depart:  
Number of Rooms:
 
Room 1 Details:
  • Deluxe Room
- or -
Choose a Vacation Package
and Save More!
Free Resort Credits More
4 days, 3 nights
Travel Dates 8/19 - 12/22
Starting at $449 was $1049
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Hurry! Only one day left to book!
Free Resort Credits More
4 days, 3 nights
Travel Dates 5/13 - 8/18
Starting at $509 was $689
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Hurry! Only 2 days left to book!
Free Resort Credit More
4 days, 3 nights
Travel Dates 6/29 - 8/18
Starting at $499 was $1209
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Only 8 days left to book!
Discount Coupons More
5 days, 4 nights
Travel Dates 8/19 - 12/22
Starting at $599 was $809
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Only 7 days left to book!

Need Assistance?

Call one of our U.S. based Beach Experts.

(800) 915-2322
7 Days a Week - 5am to 3am EST

All Mexico - Riviera Maya Resorts